The following table counts the achievements of Nittany Lion wrestlers by name as opposed to year. Sophomore Quentin Wright (Wingate, Pa.) claimed the individual national crown at 184 as Penn State outdistanced Cornell and Iowa for the

Thirty-three athletes in each of the following weight classes qualified for the tournament either through automatic bids or at-large bids: 125 pounds, 133 pounds, 141 pounds, 149 pounds, 157 pounds, 165 pounds, 174 pounds, 184 pounds, 197 pounds, Heavyweights (183-285 pounds). At 125 pounds, Spencer Lee earned his second consecutive national title when he took down then undefeated Jack Mueller of Virginia. Eastern Wrestling League1976, 1977, 1978, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, Big Ten Conference2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2019. Penn State Has Won 79 National Team Championships Click Here for a list of … [2] The Penn State Nittany Lions wrestling program is an NCAA Division I Wrestling team competing as members of the Big Ten Conference.. Drew Foster won the 184-pound final against Max Dean after both athletes pulled off upsets to work themselves into the final bout. (The Lorenzo Wrestling Complex also serves as the training facility for the Nittany Lion Wrestling Club, a designated U.S. Olympic Regional Training Center. Click Here  for a list of Penn State's Conference Championships, Official Fan Travel and Hospitality Services, Video Platform powered by CBS Sports Digital, 1948, 1953, 1954, 1957, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1965, 1976, 2000, 2004, 2007, 1926 (co), 1929, 1933, 1936 (co), 1937 (co), 1938, 1939 (co), 1940 (co), 1949 (co), 1954, 1955 (co), 1921, 1953, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, Uneven Bars, Balance Beam, Floor Exercise, All-Around, 3,000m and 5,000m *Competed in AIAW. In addition, Penn State has won nine NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships as a team. The remaining 45 spots were awarded as at-large bids by NCAA Division I Wrestling Committee. From February 22, 2015 to November 22, 2019, the team achieved a 60 dual meet win streak. Former wrestlers include Dan Hodge Trophy Winner Kerry McCoy and Bo Nickal, and two-time Dan Hodge Trophy Winners David Taylor and Zain Retherford.

Wrestlers have had career success in the Olympics and in professional Mixed Martial Arts (MMA). Make the most of your time in Pittsburgh with robust daily schedules and city information. The win in Pittsburgh at the NCAA championships marks their eighth national title in nine years. The program’s record for most NCAA Champions in one season was set in 2017, with 5 NCAA Champions crowned - Zain Retherford (149 lbs), Jason Nolf (157 lbs), Vincenzo Joseph (165 lbs), Mark Hall (174 lbs), and Bo Nickal (184 lbs). Home dual meets are held in the main gym at Rec Hall and on occasion at the Bryce Jordan Center. In that time, Penn State shared eight national championships and was selected three times as champion outright (1929, 1938, 1954). ), Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association,, "Penn State Has Won 78 National Team Championships", College of Information Sciences and Technology, Great Valley School of Graduate Professional Studies, Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center, Harold and Inge Marcus Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering,, Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License, Gold Medal (2018), UWW Wrestler of the Year (2018), This page was last edited on 20 September 2020, at 22:38.